Skip to content

College Governance

Organizational Chart - pdf version here


  • Andrea Amalfitano

Direct Reports to the Office of the Dean

  • C. Patricia Obando: Assistant Dean, Statewide Campus System
  • Kirsten Waarala: Associate Dean, Medical Education
    • Susan Enright: Assistant Dean, Clerkship Education
  • Anissa Mattison: Assistant Dean, Detroit Medical Center
  • Bruce Wolf: Assistant Dean, Macomb University Center
  • William Cunningham: Associate Dean, Institute for Global Health
  • John Goudreau: Associate Dean, Research
  • Katherine Ruger: Associate Dean, Admissions and Student Life
    • Alison Jenner: Registrar, Enrollment Services & Student Records
  • Marita Gilbert: Associate Dean, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Aaron Pahl: Interim Director, Finance & Budgets
  • Sarah Kovach: Interim Director, Human Resources
  • Terri Hughes-Lazzell: Director, Communications
  • Chris Surian: Director, Development
  • Kimberly LaMacchia: Administrative Director and Executive Assistant

College Departments, Institutes and Centers

Biomedical/Foundational Sciences

  • Biochemistry & Molecular Biology (E. Grotewold, chair)
  • Microbiology & Molecular Genetics (V. DiRita, chair)
  • Pharmacology & Toxicology (A. Dorrance, interim chair)
  • Physiology/Human Pathology (C. Cox, chair)


  • Family & Community Medicine (J. Greenberg, responsible administrator)
  • Neurology and Ophthalmology (D. Kaufman, chair)
  • Orthopedics (J. Sylvain, responsible administrator)
  • Osteopathic Manipulative Med (L. DeStefano, chair)
  • Osteopathic Medical Specialties (M. Hughes, chair)
  • Osteopathic Surgical Specialties (B. Zimmerman, chair)
  • Pediatrics (J. Greenberg, chair)
  • Physical Med & Rehab (J. Sylvain, chair)
  • Psychiatry (J. Magen, chair)
  • Radiology (K. Robinson, interim chair)
  • PA Medicine (J. McGinnity, director)


  • Learning and Assessment Center (M. Smith, director)

College Committees

  • College Advisory Committee (E. Shapiro, chair)
  • Committee on Diversity & Inclusion (C. Tobias, chair)
  • Admissions Committee (M. Jordan, chair)
  • College Curriculum Committee (G. Atkin, chair)
  • Advisory Committee on Promotion & Tenure (J. Busik, chair)
  • Committee on Research & Graduate Study (N. Tewari-Singh, chair)
  • Committee on Student Evaluation (C. Sims, chair) College
  • Hearing Committee for Medical Students Rights & Responsibilities (B. Wolf, chair)
  • Bylaws Committee (B. Wolf, chair)